People

The hamlet of Grise Fiord is home to 130 permanent residents as of December 2016. Like many other remote places in the world, we have our own distinct dialect, a variant of Inuktitut that originates from the 1953 relocation of our founding families. It’s a mixture of Northern Québec and Tununirqmiut (North Baffin) dialects. The Inuit Language (‘Inuktut’ — which includes both Inuktitut and Inuinnaqtun), English, and French are the three Official Languages of Nunavut. English has become the primary information language spoken in most households up here. Sadly, for the preservation of the Inuit Language, English has been used more and more regularly over the past 65 years.

Until 1970, most Inuit in the Canadian Arctic did not use last names. For example, the Aqiatushuk family included Paddy, Isa, Akiatashak (1953), Akeeagok (1958), Ningyou (1960), Paulasie (1953) and Peeyameenee (1962). The only member of that family with a second name was Tookeekee Kiguktak (1964). Then, in 1970, Abraham Ookpik visited every Inuk home to introduce surnames. In Grise Fiord each individual was given a last name of their own choosing. Some people chose to use baptismal names. Larry Audlaluk became Larry Akeeatushuk Audlaluk, Paulasie became Paulasie Nungaq, Akeeagok became Gamaliel Akeeagok, Ningyou used his father’s name to become Ningyou Killiktee, and Peeyameenee became Abraham Pijamini. Tookeekee, who was the local exception, just used what he had always used before, Tookeekee Kiguktak.

Some people in Grise Fiord feel that they have an important role to play in protecting Canada’s borders in the far north. The closest land to the North Pole is Nunavut, Canada. Grise Fiord is located a mere 943 miles (1517 km) from it. Under International Law, no country owns the North Pole or the region of the Arctic Ocean surrounding it. Canada is one of the five Arctic coastal nations — including USA, Russia, Norway and Denmark (via Greenland) — that are currently in dispute over who owns the continental shelf resources located under the Arctic Ocean. Although Greenland is part of the Kingdom of Denmark, most Inuit in this part of Canada feel their ancestral roots with Greenlandic Inuit are stronger than international borders. They feel that these people are neighbours and not foreigners. In a more perfect circumpolar world, Inuit from Canada, Greenland, Russia and Alaska would abolish their borders.

The Inuktitut name for Grise Fiord is ‘Aussuittuq’ which means ‘place that never melts.’ An interpreter working for the Government of the Northwest Territories introduced this Inuktitut place name in 1973. But, because the Grise Fiord residents did not choose this new place name for themselves, some people still refuse to recognize it.

The English name Grise Fiord is originally Norwegian. The word ‘grise’ is Norwegian for ‘pig.’ The famous Norwegian explorer Otto Sverdrup named this place ‘Pig Fiord’ back in 1899 because the noisy snorting sounds of basking walrus herds reminded him of grunting pigs.

The Sverdrup expedition of 1898-1901 charted the western and eastern coasts of Ellesmere Island and discovered Axel Heiberg Island, Amund Ringnes Island and Ellef Ringnes Island. His original plan was to chart the northern reaches of Greenland, but severe ice conditions in Kane Basin prevented him from doing so. Sverdrup wintered at Pim Island then moved on to explore Ellesmere Island. He named a small fiord after his ship, the ‘Fram,’ when they were forced to seek refuge there. Harbour Fiord became his second wintering spot. In the fall of 1899, Sverdrup made several ‘short outings’ to explore the larger area. One outing took him over 100 kilometres to what is now called Boat Fiord. While he and his party were away, one of his sailors died of illness. His burial cross is erected at Harbour Fiord. The maps that Otto Sverdrup made were so accurate they were used until 1956.

Inuit have survived and thrived in the harsh Arctic conditions for centuries by hunting and harvesting the wildlife, by making igloos, using dog-teams, kayaks, utilizing animal hides for protective winter clothing — and by teaching all this knowledge to their children. The wisdom of Inuit ancestors passed onto new generations continues to be very important today. It’s true that Inuit have very detailed names for different types of snow. Traditional skills such as drumming, throat singing, winter clothing making and igloo building are now taught in school. Since the Federal Day School opened in Grise Fiord in 1962, the traditional lifestyle of hunting and gathering has shifted more toward a wage-earning economy. Snowmobiles were introduced in 1967 and by 1969 dog-teams were no longer being used. Some Inuit traditions are still very much alive today however, such as the use of traditional hunting gear, harpoon, harpoon head, qamutik (sled), ulu (woman’s knife), skin boots (kamiks) and skin clothes for warmth and protection.

The traditional Inuit diet is now supplemented by store-bought groceries, but hunting continues here year-round. In the spring and summer Peary Caribou, Narwhal and Walrus are harvested, while Arctic Char are fished in Jones Sound. Seal hunting is constant, providing an important natural source of food for a healthy family diet. Sometimes called the King of the Arctic, ‘Nanuk,’ the Polar Bear is hunted seasonally by quota. Also the Muskox is hunted, the great Pleistocene ‘megafauna’ survivor from the last Ice Age.

From 1953 to 1970, tourism did not exist up here. Nowadays tourists enjoy our 24-hour daylight and the midnight sun. No matter who you are, visitors are always welcome here. It doesn’t take very long for visitors to see how close-knit our community is. It is also very friendly! In Grise Fiord, we welcome you with open arms and we invite you to come participate in our annual Nunavut Day, July 9th celebrations!

Tour Grise Fiord:
our welcome to
the top of the world

Gens

Le hameau de Grise Fiord compte 130 résidents permanents en décembre 2016. Comme plusieurs autres sites éloignés dans le monde, nous avons notre propre dialecte, une variante de la langue inuktitute qui découle de la déportation de nos familles fondatrices en 1953. Il s’agit d’une combinaison des dialectes du Nord québécois et de la langue Tununirqmiut (Nord-de-Baffin). La langue inuite (« inuktut » — qui comprend les langues inuktitute et inuinnaqtun), l’anglais et le français sont les trois langues officielles du Nunavut. L’anglais est devenu la principale langue d’information utilisée dans la plupart des foyers ici. Malheureusement pour la préservation de la langue inuite, la langue anglaise a été utilisée de plus en plus régulièrement au cours des 65 dernières années.

Jusqu’en 1970, la plupart des Inuits de l’Arctique canadien n’utilisaient pas de nom de famille. Par exemple, la famille Aqiatushuk comprenant Paddy, Isa, Akiatashak (1953), Akeeagok (1958), Ningyou (1960), Paulasie (1953) et Peeyameenee (1962). Le seul membre de cette famille qui portait un deuxième nom était Tookeekee Kiguktak (1964). Puis, en 1970, Abraham Ookpik s’est rendu dans chaque foyer inuk pour instaurer l’utilisation de noms de famille. À Grise Fiord, chaque personne s’est vue attribuer un nom de famille de son choix. Certains ont choisi d’utiliser des noms de baptême. Larry Audlaluk est devenu Larry Akeeatushuk Audlaluk, Paulasie est devenu Paulasie Nungaq, Akeeagok est devenu Gamaliel Akeeagok, Ningyou a utilisé le nom de son père pour devenir Ningyou Killiktee, et Peeyameenee est devenu Abraham Pijamini. Tookeekee, l’exception locale, a simplement utilisé le même nom qu’il avait toujours porté, Tookeekee Kiguktak.

Certaines personnes de Grise Fiord estiment avoir un rôle important à jouer dans la protection des frontières du Canada dans l’extrême nord. Le territoire le plus proche du Pôle Nord est le Nunavut, au Canada. Grise Fiord est situé à quelque 943 milles (1517 km) du Pôle. En vertu des lois internationales, aucun pays ne possède le Pôle Nord ou la région de l’océan Arctique qui l’entoure. Le Canada est une des cinq nations côtières de l’Arctique — avec les États-Unis, la Russie, la Norvège et le Danemark (par le Groenland) — qui se disputent actuellement la propriété des ressources du plateau continental situé sous l’océan Arctique. Bien que le Groenland fasse partie du royaume du Danemark, la plupart des Inuits de cette partie du Canada estiment que leurs racines ancestrales remontant aux Inuits du Groenland sont plus fortes que les frontières internationales. Ils perçoivent ces peuples comme des voisins et non comme des étrangers. Dans un monde circumpolaire plus parfait, les Inuits du Canada, du Groenland, de la Russie et de l’Alaska aboliraient leurs frontières.

Le nom de Grise Fiord, en langue inuktitute, est « Aussuittuq », nom qui signifie « lieu qui ne fond jamais ». Un interprète travaillant pour le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a instauré ce nom en langue inuktitute en 1973. Mais, parce que les résidents de Grise Fiord n’ont pas eux-mêmes choisi ce nouveau nom, certaines personnes continuent de refuser de le reconnaître.

Le nom anglais de Grise Fiord était norvégien à l’origine. Le mot « grise » signifie « porc » en langue norvégienne. Le célèbre explorateur Otto Sverdrup avait nommé cet endroit « Fiord du porc » en 1899 à cause des bruyants sons de ronflement émis par les troupeaux de morses, qui évoquaient le geignement des porcs.

L’expédition de Sverdrup de 1898-1901 a cartographié les côtes ouest et est de l’île d’Ellesmere et a découvert l’île Axel Heiberg, l’île Amund Ringnes et l’île Ellef Ringnes. À l’origine, il souhaitait cartographier les accès septentrionaux du Groenland, mais les conditions difficiles de la glace à Kane Basin l’en ont empêché. Sverdrup passa donc l’hiver à l’île Pim, pour ensuite aller explorer l’île d’Ellesmere. Il nomma un petit fjord du nom de son bateau, le « Fram », après avoir été forcé d’y trouver refuge. Harbour Fiord est devenu le deuxième site où il passa l’hiver. À l’automne de 1899, Sverdrup fit plusieurs « courtes incursions » pour explorer la région. Une de ces expéditions le mena à plus de 100 kilomètres du lieu qui s’appelle aujourd’hui Boat Fiord. Pendant son absence à l’occasion de cette expédition, un des membres de son équipage perdit la vie à cause d’une maladie. La croix de sa sépulture est érigée à Harbour Fiord. Les cartes préparées par Otto Sverdrup étaient si précises qu’on les utilisa jusqu’en 1956.

Les Inuits ont survécu et ont prospéré dans les difficiles conditions de l’Arctique en faisant de la chasse et de la récolte de la faune, en construisant des igloos, en utilisant des attelages de chiens, des kayaks, en utilisant les peaux d’animaux pour se confectionner des vêtements chauds pour l’hiver — et en enseignant toutes ces compétences à leurs enfants. La sagesse des ancêtres inuits s’est transmise aux nouvelles générations et continue d’être très importante aujourd’hui. Il est vrai que les Inuits ont des noms très précis pour les divers types de neige. Les compétences traditionnelles, telles que le jeu du tambour, le chant de gorge, la confection de vêtements d’hiver et la construction d’igloos sont aujourd’hui enseignés à l’école. Depuis l’ouverture de l’école fédérale à Grise Fiord, en 1962, le mode de vie traditionnel fondé sur la chasse et la cueillette a été graduellement supplanté par une économie fondée sur le salaire. Les motoneiges ont fait leur arrivée en 1967 et on cessa, dès 1969, d’utiliser les attelages de chiens. Certaines traditions inuites sont aujourd’hui encore très présentes, dont l’utilisation de l’équipement de chasse traditionnel, le harpon, la tête de harpon, le qamutik (traîneau), l’ulu (le couteau de femme), les bottes en peau (kamiks) et les vêtements en peau pour assurer chaleur et protection.

Le régime alimentaire inuit traditionnel est aujourd’hui combiné à des articles achetés à l’épicerie, mais la chasse se poursuit ici toute l’année. Au printemps et en été, on chasse le caribou de Peary, le narval et le morse, et on pêche l’omble de l’Arctique dans le détroit de Jones. La chasse au phoque est constante et fournit un apport alimentaire naturel important à une saine alimentation familiale. Parfois surnommé le Roi de l’Arctique, « Nanuk », l’ours polaire est chassé en respectant des quotas. On chasse également le bœuf musqué, le grand survivant de la « mégafaune » du Pléistocène, à la dernière ère glaciaire.

De 1953 à 1970, le tourisme n’existait pas ici. Aujourd’hui, les touristes apprécient l’ensoleillement de 24 heures et le soleil de minuit. Qui que vous soyez, les visiteurs sont toujours bienvenus ici. Ils constatent rapidement à quel point notre communauté est tissée serrée. Elle est également très hospitalière! À Grise Fiord, nous vous accueillons à bras ouverts et nous vous invitons à venir participer à notre Journée annuelle du Nunavut, dans le cadre des célébrations du 9 juillet!

Visitez Grise Fiord:
bienvenue au sommet
du globe